It is possible that updating a plugin will show the message that plugins are not compatible. This information should not be ignored as it is possible that some features of the PRO version will no longer be available. This message will appear as a last resort so it is important to know when it might appear.
When messages about incompatible plugins appear
This happens when the free plugin version is updated but the PRO version is skipped. The message will be shown when we implement new functionalities to the plugin and these changes can cause further complications in using the plugin in the PRO version (or when it is possible to cause an error after making changes using it).
Reasons for receiving the message
We strive to ensure that our products are developed on a regular basis and respond to all the needs that are reported to us. The best proof of this are long changelogs that contain descriptions of what has changed in a specific version.
One of the main criteria that we follow when implementing changes is that our plugins are backwards compatible. This means that each change is planned and implemented with checking of the correct operation with previous versions of plugins.
The plugins are compatible for all versions of our plugins and for the last 3 versions of WooCommerce and WordPress. This approach makes our plugins compatible with each other and it is possible to use updates that are part of the subscription.
But some of the needs that customers report to us are not backward compatible. It happens when their implementation is based e.g. on changes that require a newer version of the library that is not further developed.
There are two messages that can occur in this case:
Update both plugins to the latest versions for trouble-free use of all functionalities. Working with plugins now comes with limitations and risks. We improve both versions on a regular basis. Updating the free and PRO versions at the same time guarantees their correct operation.
When plugins are incompatible at this level - then a message will appear in the admin dashboard announcing there is a chance of causing an error. Using a plugin is not recommended in that case as there is no guarantee that all functions will work and saving the settings carries a risk for them. An immediate update is recommended.
Update both plugins to the latest versions to use all the features of the PRO plugin. This plugin has now been deactivated as it is not compatible. We improve both versions on a regular basis. Updating the free and PRO versions at the same time guarantees their correct operation.
When plugins are incompatible at this level - it will no longer be possible to use the plugin. This is due to changes which have been added to plugins that conflict with other plugins or with WordPress. Further use of the plugin is not possible as the PRO functions have been disabled in order not to cause a serious error on the website (and stop the store from working).
What to do to make the message disappear
Both plugins must be updated to the latest versions to hide the message. Information on how to update plugins can be found in the guide How to update a WordPress Plugin.
The free plugin needs to be downgraded if the subscription is not active and it is not possible to update the PRO plugin. We do not suggest this as the updates we publish often contain fixes to ensure our plugins are safe and compatible with the latest versions of WordPress and WooCommerce.
It is possible that the free plugin will update itself if automatic updates are enabled. If the PRO version is not updated (and thus is no longer compatible) - its functions will be disabled. An email with relevant information will be sent to main administrator with information about needed PRO version of the plugin. This will enable a quick reaction to restore the disabled functions.